NDT Certification Types

Training & Events

Non-Destructive Testing (NDT) involves various types of certifications, which reflect the skills and competencies in the different techniques of NDT. The American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT) is one of the leading certification bodies in the USA

ASNT NDT Level I: An individual certified at Level I has demonstrated competence to carry out NDT according to established or recognized procedures under the supervision of Level II or III personnel. They may only operate within specific limitations.

ASNT NDT Level II: Level II individuals are qualified to set up and calibrate equipment, conduct tests, interpret and evaluate results according to applicable codes, standards, or specifications, and prepare written instructions and reports. They can also provide on-the-job training and guidance of trainees and Level I technicians.

: Level III individuals are capable of establishing techniques, interpreting codes, standards, and specifications, and designating the particular NDT methods and techniques to be used. They also have sufficient knowledge to train and examine Level I and II personnel.

These certifications are given for various methods of NDT, including but not limited to:

    • Ultrasonic Testing (UT)

    • Radiographic Testing (RT)

    • Magnetic Particle Testing (MT)

    • Penetrant Testing (PT)

    • Eddy Current Testing (ET)
    • Visual Testing (VT)

    • Leak Testing (LT)

      Specific requirements for certification can vary by organization and sometimes by specific industries or employers.

Note:  There are also other certification bodies such as The British Institute of Non-Destructive Testing (BINDT), offering PCN (Personnel Certification in Non-Destructive Testing) certifications, and the American Petroleum Institute (API) which provides certifications more tailored towards the oil and gas industry.